* 17370 Posts in 1945 Topics by 250 Members Latest Member: Vrouk   **
THE GNOMISH RESCUE SQUAD & SPECIAL SERVICE
  Advanced search
September 07, 2010, 03:24:40 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
Login with username, password and session length
*
Click here for the homepage
Website
HomeHelpSearchCalendarLoginRegister**
+  The Gnomish Rescue Squad & Special Service
|-+  Not Gnomish or Service Matters
| |-+  Interesting stuff
| | |-+  Security
| | | |-+  A scam e-mail
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: A scam e-mail  (Read 144 times)
Woromonger
Administrator
Gnomish Genius
*****
Posts: 1843



WWW
« on: January 22, 2010, 05:27:45 PM »

I received this today
Quote
Greetings!

This is an automated notification regarding the recent change(s) made to your Battle.net account.

Your password has recently been modified through the Account Management website.

*** If you made this password change, please disregard this notification.

However, if you did NOT make any changes to your password, we recommend you contact Blizzard Billing & Account Services for assistance keeping your account as secure as possible.

For more information, click here for answers to Frequently Asked Questions or to contact the Blizzard Billing & Account Services team.

Account security is solely the responsibility of the accountholder. Please be advised that in the event of a compromised account, Blizzard representatives typically must lock the account. In these cases the Account Administration team will require faxed receipt of ID materials before releasing the account for play.

Sincerely,
The Battle.net Account Team
Online Privacy Policy

Don't worry the links are fake (I took the real ones out.) It's a scam. However it looks quite genuine. The link also appears to go to www worldofwarcraft.com However there were two things that made me suspicious. First the mail appeared to be directing me to worldofwarcraft.com As an EU player I should have been directed to eu.blizzard.com Hmmmmmm Second the e-mail was sent to an address that is not my e-mail used with my Battle Net account, so Blizzard should not know what that e-mail is. They only know the one I use for my WOW account. Lastly when I checked the link in the e-mail it was actually for a website that was spelt worldrofwarcraft dot com. Note the extra 'r' as in worldRofwarcraft dot com (don't actually go to this site as it's the hackers bogus site.

Stay suspicious folks
Logged
Bildur
Master Combobulator
*****
Posts: 991


« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2010, 11:55:59 PM »

horrible horrible!

why is this not adressed by our countries legal system at all?
Logged

Avatars of Azeroth: Bildur and Dimlot Whitebeard, Ixa Pixelscrew

Reinhilde
Master Combobulator
*****
Posts: 664


Reinhilde Steelanger, Blacksmith and Warrior


« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2010, 07:09:15 PM »

Most likely sadly because it is considered just a website, which by law wont be considered illegal.
Logged

Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
TechHead design by Bloc
RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!